Elysia’s day 17…Already??

I am feeling a little down today, but not because of anything specific that’s happened. I’ve been thinking about this whole weight loss journey and how I really have been feeling better now that my eating is regulated to good foods, but that I’m not happy with the amount of weight that’s come off. With how I’ve been eating, I feel like I should have lost more weight, and I am bummed that I’ve only lost 12 pounds so far. I know, I know. It’s not just going to melt off and it takes time. But shouldn’t it be coming off faster? I shouldn’t have to kill myself with workouts to lose all the weight. It should be mostly a food thing, right?

So, I’m feeling a little discouraged, though it’s not going to keep me from continuing on. I guess I just really have to suck it up and start a full work out routine. Sometimes I just feel like I already have so little time every night, and I get up really early as it is, so it’s hard to fit in exercise anywhere into my schedule. I do have to walk a little bit before and after work, because I have to park about 2 blocks down the street from my job. I know, that’s nothing like a work out, but at least it’s something, right? What else can I do?? With an hour between getting home and having to get ready for bed where I need to eat dinner, then having to get up at 5:30am the next morning, I just feel like I can’t fit anything else in. I guess you can just say these are excuses, but really, it’s hard, and I’m always tired as it is. UGH. Another excuse. I’m at a loss.

Food today:

  • Bagel (I ran out of the house totally forgetting breakfast)
  • Cucumbers, mushrooms, hard boiled eggs (2), and tomatoes for lunch
  • 1 cup bean soup (tasted pretty low sodium)
  • Tomato and ricotta cheese pie (low sodium recipe mom found)

Reflection: Fine with how I ate for the day, and just need to figure out this whole exercise thing without killing myself with excuses. I’ll come up with something…I will make it happen. It just is going to mean sacrificing any of my down time during the week. Maybe I’ll just start with taking a long walk after work? I’ll work on it, I promise. I will NOT let myself down.

xoxoxo

2 thoughts on “Elysia’s day 17…Already??

  1. It sounds silly but the problem /might/ be that you’re not eating enough (though everything you mentioned today sounded really, really yummy). I know, I know, that sounds dumb, but if your body is being deprived of enough calories, it goes into starvation mode and won’t let you lose any more weight. It’s especially problematic with women because our bodies want to make sure that if we were to get pregnant and then suddenly there’s a famine or drought we would be able to carry a baby to term. (Again, I know that sounds silly, but tell it to the body!)

    I don’t know if you’re using a calorie counting program or not, but LiveStrong.com has an EXCELLENT calorie counter. It has pretty much any food you can think of on there as well as the portion sizes, everything, and when you input your age, height, and weight, as well as a few things about your lifestyle and how much you want to lose, it will tell you how many calories you can consume that day. It also lets you keep track of fitness at the same time, so you can input what you do and then it will adjust your calorie allowance accordingly. It’s really easy and intuitive: plus, because it’s on the LiveStrong website, it will suggest articles related to what you input and general health thing.

    Best thing: it’s free! Definitely something to think about.

    Hang in there! You’re doing EXCELLENT! Twelve pounds is absolutely NOT something to scoff at – that’s wonderful! Keep up the great work 🙂

  2. I agree with the above comment, you are not taking in enough calories. I will talk with my contacts today to see how you can take in more calories in a healthy way. : ) You are doing great kiddo!

Leave a Reply

