Day 32 and I am getting my wish

Finally, as Spring laughs, in the not so near distance, Seattle is finally getting hit by old man winter and I couldn’t be more excited.  Snow reminds me of days long ago when why family used to go snowmobiling.  Yep,  this “two ton tussy” used to slip into a black leather Yamaha snow suit and ride on a snowmobile, who knew?!

I remember going up to the lake in the winter time where I spent my summers growing up; the entire lake would be frozen solid.  Very few people came up to the lake during the winter and all you could hear was the sound of the snow crunching under your boots and the snow lightly hitting the ground; it was beautiful.  I would take a shovel out onto the lake, clear an area and have my own private skating rink.

I try to keep a little bit of tradition with my own family even though I am far away from the frequent snowfalls of Michigan.  When it snows in the evening in Seattle, we put on our boots and take a slow family walk.  Even though all but one of my children are adult children, they still love the walk in the snow.

I had a pretty good day today, I won 2 – $20 gift cards in a drawing at work to a local Italian restaurant.  I am thinking they probably don’t have a gluten-free, low-fat menu…but maybe I can find something that I can have over there!

Evening Reflection:  All in all, things are good and now I am just hoping to wake up to a blanket of white.  : )  I am hoping to move from 213.4 lbs…I have been stuck there for days and I am a bit discouraged.

Quote of the day:

Never look down on anybody unless you’re helping him up.

~Jesse Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

