Day 35 and the hair came off!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” 

~Mark Twain~

I don’t know what came over me this morning but I felt the “energy”, the “power”, the inner strength to say, “TAKE IT OFF!”  I made an appointment with Casey at Sénsé Salon and told him I decided to cut all of my hair off – it was down to my shoulders.  I wanted it sassy and sexy and he delivered! 

The new me.

 

I am seeing myself in this incredible transformation process.  I feel as though at 42 I am discovering me and doing things that I would never ordinarily do out of fear that I might disappoint someone in my life.

For me, this journey is not just about losing weight, it is a journey to my soul.  This may seem only about physical appearance but physical weight is just a small stop along the path.  I believe that I need to face my mental weight that is loading me down before I can maintain my goals long-term.  I often feel that my emotional baggage weighs heavier on me than my excess body fat and I am trying to work through those issues.

Today’s haircut was an expression of inner strength and risk taking and it felt wonderful.  Tomorrow I will once again step out of my comfort zone and into a yoga class.  I am opening myself to new ideas and possibilities; this will bring great things.

Twenty years from now I do not want to be disappointed by the things that I didn’t do.  So I am throwing off the bowlines.  Sailing away from the safe harbor.  Catching the trade winds in my sails.  Exploring.  Dreaming.  Discovering…..I encourage you to do the same!

Confession time:  I did fabulous today, that is, until about 5:45 pm.  I highly doubt the guacamole, nachos and margaritas where organic or healthy options BUT THEY SURE TASTED YUMMY!!!  ; )

Thanks for the evening “E”!  : )

2 thoughts on “Day 35 and the hair came off!

  1. Hey, thanks for the shoutout yesterday! I tried to leave a comment but for some reason it wasn’t working :/ Anyways absolutely love Arthur C Clarke and Mark Twain, those are some awesome quotes!

    This is about more than weight for me too and I’m glad that you are on this journey as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

