Learning to start over again…

Nothing can stop the man with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal; nothing on earth can help the man with the wrong mental attitude.
Thomas Jefferson

Oh Mr. Jefferson, how right you are. And this is why I’m “starting over.” Because for about the past month, I’ve been going at this once again with the wrong attitude. Instead of encouraging myself to really watch what I’m eating, I simply go for “good enough.” And instead of pushing myself to work out, I’ve made it all seem like a huge chore. I’ve been sabotaging myself.

I suppose my first step was recognizing what I was doing to myself; realizing that the weight wasn’t going to just magically disappear. While yes, I know this is an obvious fact, I guess I was hoping for a lot of instant gratification. I thought that as long as I kind of sort of change things, then maybe that was all I needed. I was wrong, and I’m freely admitting that.

Being as young as I am, I have the opportunity to change my life completely, and I don’t want to let that slip away. I need to accept that it’s going to take work and dedication, and I need to allow myself to know that it’s okay to be frustrated sometimes. These past months, I have wasted so much time. I think of how much weight I could have lost had I really gotten focused, and I just want to kick myself for letting time get by without progress.

So, everyone, I’m starting over. I’ll be re-writing my “goals” page to accommodate the time I’ve lost, and I’ll be starting anew. Tomorrow I will weigh in, and I will accept that I’m probably around 288lbs again. We’ll see. Whatever the number is, I know it’s not going to be that high for long.

I hope everyone has a fantastic week. I’m excited that this is only a 4 day work week for me. I will have Friday thru Monday off. Can’t even begin to explain my excitement.

xoxoxo

8 thoughts on “Learning to start over again…

  1. Hi Elysia,
    I found this blog from another blog and I am lucky to have clicked on the link! Your mum and you are so inspirational. I really liked this post. I agree that having the right mental state is the key to success. Your mum and you are so strong and perceptive. I look forward to reading more this blog. Thanks.
    -Nanette

    • Nanette,
      Thank you so much for subscribing to our blog. Knowing that people out there enjoy the blog and find us to be inspirational is often times the extra push on a difficult day to do better…plus our readers often times hold us accountable when we slip up! Glad you are here!
      😀
      Beth

    • Thank you for reading, Nanette!

      I’m learning to make this change positive, and not thinking of it as if it’s a chore. While changing foods is hard for me (I love fruit, and know that the natural sugars aren’t the best for me…) I’m learning to change them with a smile because in the long run, that’s what going to help me be successful. And knowing that people are following us and reading our posts is very motivational for me!

  2. I agree with David! Keep your head up and keep moving forward. The wonderful part is that you are ARE recognizing and sorting out the changes that you need to make and that is absolutely WONDERFUL! : ) I just love you so much kiddo…can’t wait for your 21st birthday on Friday… no thoughts of weight loss on that day…only mani/pedis, martinis and FUN!

  3. Hey Girly,
    So i’ve perused you blog but not really read it. until now. This is exactly where i am physically and mentally, and i intend to follow intently. Hopefully this will bring about the change i need too. Call or text (or facebook) if you need anything. Thank you for not taking it lying down anymore, and inspiring me.

Leave a Reply

