It was a beautiful day today.

If anyone is familiar with Washington, you know that a sunny day in April is something to take advantage of and cherish. It was a gorgeous day today, and it really brought my spirits up!

Since sun exposure on my medicine has to be limited, I didn’t go out and enjoy the beautiful weather like I had wanted to. Instead, when I got home from work, I opened the windows, enjoyed the cool air, and cleaned up the downstairs a bit. It felt like a perfect afternoon.

I was thinking a lot today about my current situation, and what to do about it. I mean, I know what I need to do, it’s just a matter of wanting it badly enough to do it. Today, I think I reached that point. I was thinking about my motivation, and how much it would mean to me to reach my goal and feel amazing about myself. It’s hard knowing that it is going to take a while before I reach that goal, but I think I’m finally going to enjoy this challenge. Why not? Shouldn’t I enjoy having more energy? Enjoy looking in the mirror and noticing a difference? I’m realizing I’ve been going about this all wrong; only noticing how hard everything is and how much I would rather eat unhealthy things because of the instant satisfaction they provide. I looked at bacon and hashbrowns this morning and my first thought was “YES!” but as soon as that thought crossed my mind, I corrected myself and thought “A banana and some yogurt would make me feel a lot better. I could use the vitamins.” I think I even surprised myself. And I know bacon isn’t “terrible” for you and does provide needed nutrition as well, however, I always feel better after fruit and yogurt. Plus, it wouldn’t hurt to watch cholesterol a bit.

I guess I’m finally sick and tired of being sick and tired all the time about my weight. Once again, I’m ready to start making the changes that I need to. But I’m not going to get on the scale until next Tuesday. I want to give myself a week of some major detox before I really look at where I’m at.

Also, I’d like to thank my most wonderful support system; my mom. I know that I had fallen off the wagon a lot, and it didn’t look like I was trying, but I’m back in the game now and I’m ready to take all this on with you, Mom. I love you and you mean the world to me!

I hope everyone enjoys the rest of their evening.

xoxoxo

2 thoughts on “It was a beautiful day today.

  1. Sometimes it is the baby steps that mean the most in this journey. By changing your eating plan you proved to yourself that you can do it!

    As far as enjoying it …..Hell yeah! Set small goals and reward yourself often. Of course food is not a great reward but as you drop the pounds, you will need new clothes or shoes. Or you can treat yourself to a Mani/Pedi. Make the most of it!

Leave a Reply

