Apologies Due

Realization:  I DO make a difference.  
Sometimes I sit down late at night on my blog and I stay up trying to put my thoughts into words until I am absolutely mind-numb with exhaustion.  There are times when I think that perhaps it is ok to skip a day but them somehow skipping one day of writing turns into skipping two and before you know it a whole month has passed.  I have discovered a few very important things in this past month of silence.
  1. Writing keeps me motivated and I enjoy it greatly.
  2. There are people out there who enjoy my support and I wasn’t aware of the extent…my sincere apologies, thank you for the reminder.
  3. Most importantly…I can’t do this without YOU.  I definitely need support from friends!
I have been working 10-12 hours a day learning the ins and outs of my new position and a whole month has gotten away from me.  During the past month old patterns have nibbled their way back into my life and I have shamefully fallen “off the wagon” of healthy eating so to speak.  When you leave the house at 6:30am and return around 8:00pm or so, it is hard to think about healthy habits but I really don’t have an option if I am going to lose the remainder of this weight.  The truth is, I have gained back at least 5 pounds.  : (
Exercise?  I haven’t hardly gotten up from my desk in a month…couple that with over 2 1/2 hours in a car for my commute per day and it’s a wonder I haven’t had a pulmonary embolism!  The only thing I have exercised is my lips complaining about how I need to start eating healthy again and how much I miss The Juicy Cafe folks keeping me in line.
Time to put a plan back in place and start all over again for the 171st time.  The good news is that I am willing to get back up, even though I am embarrassed to put it out there that I have spent the last month pumping fast food into my previously organic only body!  Now, of course, ONLY I  can be responsible for what I put in to my body but let me tell you right now I DO NOT have support at work.  The environment is a male dominated environment of fast-food junkies who eat on the run at their desks.  This is like leaving candy on a table where kids are playing and telling them not to touch it.  I am a recovering combo pizza addict, you think I would know better!  I did have a game plan of packing my own food but that lasted all of a day or so.  I don’t have time to even sleep let alone cook my meals but instead of breaking this down by the week, I am going to commit myself to tomorrow only. I need to go back to taking things one day at a time.
Food packed for tomorrow:
  • Gluten-free oatmeal for breakfast
  • One lean piece of left over steak – don’t judge me here, it is a left-over.
  • I will steam some veggies to go with the steak
  • Peanut butter for a snack (one tablespoon)
  • Large amounts of water (which I have been ignoring since I started working)
Other things that I have learned…I need to find a work/home life balance.  I find that I really love to work, so much so that I would continue working way into the evening if it weren’t for the fact that I need to run home and get some rest.  The problem with this is that I haven’t left room for much else and there really does need to be balance in there.  As always, I am a work in progress.
3 thoughts on “Apologies Due

  1. Don’t worry! We are all works in progress. You are a strong woman. Though your new work situation is a challenge, you can push through. Challenges are meant to be overcome. You need to do this for yourself. I’ve been cooking all of my meals until Wednesday on Sunday and packaging them and doing the same on Wednesday for Wednesday-Sunday. This might make your life a little easier. Pack everything up. Snacks, lunch, dinner, breakfast, everything! It will make it so that you have no choice but to eat correctly. Lastly, remember that your readers support you. I’m living in a family that buys cookies constantly and it is from reading other blogs from fellow strugglers that helps me. Read our blogs and remember that 90% of the challenge is mental. The rest you can overcome. Lots of love.

  2. I am happy to see you back as well. Work with all the junk food would be mind-numbingly hard to fight off. I would be orange and bitchy for real if I was in that environment. Hang in there girl. Keep us posted on how you are doing. We are rooting for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

