Almost perfect, but not quite

 

Back again!

I made it through the morning and afternoon excellent, although, I did forget my streak.  For lunch I had baked chicken, which was a better choice anyway, and a nice side salad.

Dinner was the fail.  The pulled pork probably wasn’t the worst thing that I could have had but the fries, cranberry and vodka probably were.  This working and eating late thing is just ruining months of healthy eating.  Ok, well I did say I would take it one day at a time.

I did meet my water-drinking goal so I guess it wasn’t all bad.  Almost perfect, but not quite….reminds me of a poem I once loved as a kid…

Poetry by Shel Silverstein


“Almost perfect… but not quite.”
Those were the words of Mary Hume
At her seventh birthday party,
Looking ’round the ribboned room.
“This tablecloth is pink not white
Almost perfect… but not quite.”

“Almost perfect… but not quite.”
Those were the words of grown-up Mary
Talking about her handsome beau,
The one she wasn’t gonna marry.
“Squeezes me a bit too tight–
Almost perfect… but not quite.”

“Almost perfect… but not quite.”
Those were the words of ol’ Miss Hume
Teaching in the seventh grade,
Grading papers in the gloom
Late at night up in her room.
“They never cross their t’s just right–
Almost perfect… but not quite.”

Ninety-eight the day she died
Complainin’ ’bout the spotless floor.
People shook their heads and sighed,
“Guess that she’ll like heaven more.”
Up went her soul on feathered wings,
Out the door, up out of sight.
Another voice from heaven came–
“Almost perfect… but not quite.”

2 thoughts on “Almost perfect, but not quite

  1. Girl ….. ya gotta get a plan. 🙂 I can say this, but I know how hard it is. I have had more problems than I would have ever imagined, because I am normally very strict. Lately, I feel like a mad person. I want to eat fries, pasteries and the like. So far I can steer clear of most of the stuff, but somedays …..

    Too, bad you don’t have a healthy buddy at work. Thinking about you and feeling your pain. I am so glad I don’t have to face that right now. I think I might have some real problems. Get ya some home time girly! 🙂

  2. LOL…today I did much better, fish and salad. It doesn’t help that my new favorite lounge is across the street. Darn! They have the best food! I did stick to my plan today so if I can just crawl through one day at a time…
    : )

Leave a Reply

