One day at a time! (Elysia)

When I first started eating primally, I had goals and dreams for the long term, because everyone I knew that had tried this lifestyle had been successful, and I wanted to be one of those people very badly. So, naturally I started dream of single-digit pant sizes, cuter clothes, and the best part of just being a healthier person.

Quickly, I started doing the “I can eat something bad, then make up for it tomorrow” routine, and I really started to feel like I was already failing. Habits weren’t sticking and I fell off the wagon yet again. But something about this failure was different than all the others; this time, I looked at myself in the mirror and said “NO!!!!!”.

Today is my first day of literally taking this transition one day at a time. While I still have my long-term goals, I now have a goal to go to sleep every night thinking “I did great today!”, and to wake up every morning, and no matter how well I did the day before, I will pretend like yesterday never happened. So far, it’s working well! Today I have had no desire to eat anything processed and I am very happy about that. The only thing I an having a hard time giving up is my morning coffee. I went completely without it today, and I am so proud of myself for that.

I think something I am really enjoying is learning new “primal” recipes to keep things exciting. Marksdailyapple.com is a great place to look! This is my favorite website for everything primal, and there are tons of supportive people. I even saw a success story there about a woman with PCOS (which is what I have) and she lost all the weight she needed to and has never been healthier. The story definitely boosted my motivation, an even made me tear up a bit. If she did it with PCOS then so can I.

I want everyone to look up a fantastic music video that makes me so happy every time I watch it. It’s called “Good Life” and it’s by OneRepublic. I can’t figure out how to post it via this wordpress app but I encourage you to check it out on YouTube. I listen to this song every morning and it generally puts me in a good mood for the rest of the day.

I have got to go to bed, but I will talk to everyone soon!

Xoxo
Elysia 🙂

7 thoughts on “One day at a time! (Elysia)

  1. Great post Elysia! I am battling with the no coffee thing myself. But I always remember that its going to be worth it in the end. I am at the struggling stage of my lifestyle change where my body is saying to me, “hey, ok, stop this and get back to gorging yourself and drinking soda until you fall into a sugar coma.” I realize that a lot of this battle is going to be mental. So I am fighting but I know I will make it when I am subscribed to great posts like this to keep me motivated.

    • I have to say, coffee is probably my favorite thing in the world. Lol. So giving it up has been hard, but I plan on pressing on!

      I’m very glad to hear that you find my posts motivating. I’m definitely here for ya if you find you are having a difficult day, and also to help celebrate all the fantastic days! We are all in this together 🙂 Keep going strong!

  2. Sounds like you have a good plan. Can’t wait to hear how it works for you. I am not doing a total primal, but that is how I live most of the time. When NOT on a liquid diet, that is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

