Thinking of you

“Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.” 

~Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

For those of you who are struggling, I wanted to jump in and let you know that I am thinking of you today. Lifestyle changes and choices can be difficult and everybody needs a pat on the back every now and then. Beginning a weight loss journey can be all-consuming especially if you are teetering on the edge of a healthy carrot stick or climbing into the frozen food section of your local grocery and devouring every last container of Ben & Jerry’s before security takes you away.

I have had many meltdowns, binges, Lifetime Television for Women moments, “Are you gonna eat that last slice?” moments, “Oh my gosh, you soooo didn’t just buy a gallon of ice-cream?” moments, “I JUST CAN’T EAT CHICKEN ONE MORE DAY!” moments etc… since I started my journey and I have still managed to drop around 65 pounds.  It isn’t about not ever failing, it is about rising up after the fail.

For me, this is not just a weight-loss journey.  As I have said before, I have spent 42 years not accepting or appreciating myself and I plan on spending the next 42 or more enjoying how freaking funny I really am.  My journey is taking me on a spiritual journey as well. Yesterday I was ecstatic when the Buddha that I ordered arrived.  Many might think “Oh no…she is going to worship a false idol AND eat carrot sticks!”  Well, I am not that fond of carrot sticks.  Oh… and I respect the teachings of Buddha.  As the Dalai Lama would say, “My religion is kindness.”

Anyway, so a couple of weeks ago I was running around Seattle determined to find a Buddha statue for my home.  I told my husband before we left that I felt that I wasn’t supposed to go out looking for one today and he really urged me to go out and search, so we did.  I hit every road block known to man in my search for Buddha. Stores that were supposed to be open were closed, stores that we had addresses for were no longer in business.  I finally found a store with Buddha’s of all shapes and sizes and not one of them was affordable.  I went home and got on my computer thinking how terrible it was to be searching the internet for an affordable Buddha. That had to be wrong on so many levels.  I found myself typing in the search box “Buddha Statue”, “Buddha for Sale” and before you know it I am typing in “Cheap Buddha.”  WHOA!!!  Delete, Delete, Delete.

Well I found my Buddha and it was more beautiful than I could have imagine.  I look upon him and experience great peace.  I have drawn strength on this journey and do believe I can and will rise up when I fall, not just while trying to eat healthier but where ever my life takes me.

Happy Travels Friends. : )

 

 

4 thoughts on “Thinking of you

  1. Congrats on losing 65 pounds. That is so awesome! 😀 Thanks for the pat on the back. I needed one the other day. I will take this one and store it up for another day. 😀

Leave a Reply

