The Elliptical

 

 

I woke up this morning at 5:00am, plugged my IPhone into my new Elliptical, switched to the “Make U Sweat Mix” and eagerly climbed aboard.  Three minutes in and jamming away to Orianthi’s “According to You” I began to feel like I was running a New York City marathon and I was in last place.  As I huffed and puffed like the Big Bad Wolf, I went on to the next tune…Kenny Loggins’ “Danger Zone”.  Well, “Danger Zone” was probably a perfect choice because I believe that I was heading toward cardiac arrest after only 5 minutes.  Pretty certain my pulse was headed right into the danger zone with Kenny.

Whew!  I made it 5 whole minutes and I am going to attempt another 5 minutes tonight.  Perhaps a good choice of music tonight will be Maroon 5’s “Harder to Breathe” and Destiny’s Child singing “Lose My Breath”…because that is cleary what is going to happen.

The good news is I am back in the game and even if it was only 5 minutes, I am still making the choice to get up and make the necessary changes even if it means a call to 911.

 

Men’s best successes come after their disappointments. 
~Henry Ward Beecher

10 thoughts on “The Elliptical

  1. congrats on restart.

    If I can suggest – I’d work on time before intensity – start working up to 30 min at whatever pace you can do 30 min for no matter how slow. then start working on intensity. You’re going to want both but I find working on a minimum 30 min block helps. Also try to vary the programs you use – interval/hill stuff is good for building stamina.

  2. J. ~
    Thank you so much for the advice. Yes, I was hoping to rush right into intensity but, well, that isn’t going to happen any time soon. : )
    I will take your advice and work on time.

    Beth

  3. Beth – my husband and I were only able to manage 5 minutes on the elliptical the first time, too – and that was LOW intensity. Just keep building up a little at a time. Before you know it, you’ll be able to go for an intense 30 minutes. You’ll be amazed at yourself, remembering when you could barely survive 5.

    My advice: Don’t make yourself miserable right out of the gate. It won’t make that machine very attractive to you. It’s supposed to be fun and feel good. And it will! And it is! : )

    • If I can last for even a few minutes at this point then I am feeling like a winner!
      : )
      Last week ZERO exercise, now I am up to almost 15 minutes….not too shabby! Thanks to you guys pushing me back in the game!

Leave a Reply

