Human Kindness

There are no calories in a cup of human kindness.  

This morning while I sat at my computer looking at the local weather greatly anticipating the possibility of snow toward the end of the week, I came across a news article that disturbed me so much that I couldn’t ignore it.  A local woman’s vehicle was stolen and along with that vehicle was her daughter’s wheelchair packed away in the truck of the car.  The little six-year-old girl has cerebral palsy and can not walk, her only means of getting around is either crawling or the use of her wheelchair which was now nowhere to be found.  As I read this article I found myself a bit choked up and saddened that this mother had lost her transportation and her six-year old’s wheelchair, but at the same time a smile crossed my face…sitting in my garage was a mint condition wheelchair that had been only used a few times by my own son; I immediately contacted the news station.

Within hours I found myself at the door of the little girl’s home gifting the child the wheel chair while the local news filmed the moment… but I have to say….this wasn’t just another “let’s get the story”…this news crew genuinely cared about this child and thanked me several times for what I had done.  The way I see this I hadn’t really done any more than what anyone should do…give back to my community.  I had something that could benefit another in need and gave without thought or question.  Human kindness is the essence of our being and is what makes us…well…human.

I do not deserve a pat on the back or kudos for the kindness that I showed to another human being and it should not be looked upon with surprise and amazement but rather as an example of how it should be.

Thank you KOMO 4 for bringing this story to light and for giving me not only the opportunity to give but to set an example for my own children regarding the importance of the act of giving, no matter how small.

Carry out a random act of kindness, with no expectation of reward, safe in the knowledge that one day someone might do the same for you.

~Princess Diana

 

5 thoughts on “Human Kindness

    • Thank you stopping by David. The story really touched me and I felt so fortunate that I was in a position to be able to help that family. I felt like I was the one who got the most out of it because it really warmed my heart. : )

  1. What a great feeling that must have been for you – to hear about a need, and to actually be able to do something to fulfill that need. Contagious kindness… : )

    • Jennifer, I am a firm believer in giving back. It was such a good feeling to be able to help that family and to demonstrate to my own family the power of giving. Generosity is so very powerful and so often times forgotten. I hope that others are motivated by my random act do more. : )

  2. That was awesome. I can imagine how you got choked up. How could you not?? I am so glad you had the opportunity to be a blessing. I know you were blessed by the act. There is just something wonderful about those moments. 😀

Leave a Reply

