TAKE THIS JOB AND…

Well, you know the rest and I did just that.

Thank you Johnny Paycheck for making that line so memorable.

I quit my job.  Left.  Walked out.  I have never just walked out on a position so this was entirely out of character for me.  Where I come from you don’t leave a position until you have secured another.  Under the circumstances, I believe that my health was sincerely in jeopardy.  I was beginning to have migraines in my eye with aura and I had already burst a blood vessel several weeks back….I have been on serious overload in a hostile work environment for the past 7 months.   When an intelligent, career-minded,  responsible woman walks out of a good paying Office Manager position three weeks before Christmas with no plan in place, no savings in the bank, a new car payment and a mortgage that looks like the national debt, you can damn well bet there is just cause.

So while everyone else is counting down the 25 days of Christmas, I am counting that it is day 13 that I am unemployed!  I am not going to allow this in any way to bring me down or set me back.  Has it impacted my weight loss efforts?  Yes it has, but only temporarily.  My spirits are high and while it is a challenge to find a job in today’s market, I have faced more difficult challenges and I will see this through.  I can replace material objects but it is pretty difficult to gain back your dignity once you lose it, I can say that from experience.

I am actually looking at all of this as a good thing.  Instead of working 10 1/2 -11 1/2 hour days and adding a daily commute of 2 1/2 -3 hours, I am now taking a moment to step back and ask myself, “What do YOU like to do?”  In every “bad” situation in my life I have somehow come out better, stronger.  I sincerely believe that another door is going to open up for me and that this past situation was a time of learning because even though it was very negative, I did come out with wisdom and knowledge.  Take the best and throw the rest!

If I could spend my days writing, I would be in my glory!  : )  If there is anyone out there willing to toss a writing job my way, like maybe give me my own column, I would love it!  ; )

Time to get off of here and get back to my job search.  Enjoy your day friends!

~Beth

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “TAKE THIS JOB AND…

  1. I was there a year ago, exhausted, miserable and getting more unhealthy every day. I didn’t see you there, but I missed a lot trying to control my situation. I am unemployed now, but happier and healthier than I’ve been in a long while. You are very brave and I commend you for not sacrificing your health any longer. Best wishes to you!

  2. Thank you K.S. If you have ever made a split second decision but knew in your heart that you were not standing up just for yourself, but you were standing up for every person who has ever been in that situation…that is how I felt at that moment. I am faced with the fact that I may not receive unemployment but I know that I did the right thing for myself. Thank you for the wishes!

    • Thanks kiddo! I love you, too. I am glad that I have the support of my family…especially since this happened right before Christmas. I will find something better…I am convinced that there are employers out there who appreciate their hard-working and dedicated employees, I just have to find one! OR MAYBE SOMEHOW I NEED TO BECOME ONE!!!!
      : )

  3. Wow. I did the same thing a few months ago. In the meantime, I have been on a temporary assignment for 3 months. It has given me time to adapt and accept an uncertain future. I wish you the best! Sometimes health factors give you no choice.

  4. Thank you Catherine…I am sorry to hear that you did the same thing…but I understand! I wish you well and will keep you in my thoughts…may you quickly find an amazing job that brings you joy and satisfaction.
    Hearing that makes me want to rise up against negative working conditions!

  5. Glad to have you back with us girl. I always miss you. You are just so darn funny! I hate that you had to make such a choice, especially right now. I will be praying for you and your Next-New-Big adventure that you are about to start. 🙂

    • So many of you are family Shonnie, I couldn’t stray too far! ; )
      My oldest daughter got engaged at Thanksgiving and the following week was hectic ….then I walked out of my job Dec. 1. These past two weeks I have spent sending out resumes left and right and cleaning my house (ie…trying to keep busy).
      By the way girl….loved the dancing shoes! ; )
      Hugs,
      Beth

    • Thank you David…I know that there is something better out there even if I have settle with less money…if there is one thing that I have learned through this journey, I say that it is to pay attention to my body. I am really in tune to my own self through changing my habits and realizing what works and what doesn’t. I was doing so well with my weight loss prior to that job, the high stress environment made it almost impossible for me to stay on track. It is really quite sad though because I was so excited about it going in… But just as I have done with my weight loss, I am going to do with my career, I am going to pick up and move forward.
      As for you….are you going to post your exam grades for all of us to see? ; )

      • There definitely is something better and probably healthier for yourself out there 🙂 It’s good that you have learned to be in tune with yourself, I am still working on that! You are going to get right back to losing weight, I know it!

        As for my exam scores….we shall see depending on how I do!

Leave a Reply

