So….about those changes….

Nearly a month ago (already?!) I posted about my changes to be made. I’ve thought about them everyday since then, and I’m ready to take hold of everything in my life.

In the past few weeks, I’ve read articles about people’s success stories, and compared what they do to what I typically do, and wouldn’t ya know it, I’ve going about everything in the worst way possible. Figures, right? 🙂

When I first get going on a weight loss kick, I typically go all out. Cut out all bad foods immediately, go strong on the elliptical for an hour at a time every day…No wonder I’m completely burnt out by the second and third weeks! My body can’t do all that change at once. It’s scared and hungry and just want to know what in the world I’m doing to it until it finally says “Nope, you’re done!” New lesson: do only what I can do, until I’m ready for more.

For example: as I’ve mentioned in posts in the past, there’s a small, yet perfect gym at my job, complete with treadmills, ellipticals, stair climbers, and free weights. I used to spend an hour or more there at least 4 times a week, but it didn’t last long, because I was so tired after the first two weeks. I pushed myself too far; to a place my body isn’t ready for. So, I’ve decided, the perfect exercise for me right now is perhaps 30 minutes on the treadmill, and two reps of free weights 3 times this coming week. It will keep me moving and motivated and happy. And if I really find that it’s just not enough, I’ll try to incorporate a little more intensity.

As usual, I want this. I want to make this the final year that I struggle so much. I have motivation and trust me, I have the will power. It tends to be all I can think about each day. Everything reminds me of it. My only new year’s resolution is the be healthy. I’m not setting a numbered goal for myself, because when that’s not reached, I always feel so discouraged. I don’t even have a scale right now, and I don’t want one for a while.

I think I’m doing it right this time, and I have to tell you, I feel really good about it 🙂

xoxoxo

Elysia

3 thoughts on “So….about those changes….

  1. You can do it! Just remember, it’s a journey, with every step you learn something new about yourself and how to be healthier. Also, part of the burning out thing in my opinion is that sometimes we get so focused on losing weight that we forget the bigger picture and life in general. So really it’s just that we go back to having a life and don’t remember how to create a good balance. Figuring out that balance was the trick for me, it allowed it to become a lifestyle and I know you can do it 🙂

  2. I’m right there with ya Elysia! I’m just now starting back getting healthier. We are doing a biggest loser competition at work. I have already made it clear to myself that I’m not dieting. I’m making healthier choices. I know I can’t say I will never have chocolate again..I’m just setting goals for small changes. For instance, I’m trying to set a goal to eat at least 3 servings of fruit and 7 servings of vegetables. That way, I won’t have so much room for processed unhealthy foods. Unfortunately, it’s that time of the month and I will probably cave and have a little bit of chocolate ice cream tonight, but not unless I eat my fruits and veggies and get my exercise in. It’s all about small choices that add up. I won’t let you get discouraged! Just like I hope a month down the road you won’t let me get discouraged either! 🙂 I am back and will be posting often as well! I’ll keep in touch! I know I need all the support and help I can get!

Leave a Reply

