THE CHALLENGE

This morning I crawled out of bed anticipating what the day would bring besides just another cup of hot coffee and my continued job search. I wearily made it over to my computer and checked all my social media avenues….much to my joy I received a message from a male friend of mine challenging me to our own “Biggest Loser” competition.  I accepted with a smile.  There is nothing like a bit of competition to put some fun into your weight loss journey!  Not only does a smidge of healthy competition add some fun but it really throws in a tremendous amount of motivation and support when you team up with a friend.

The only difficulty that I see here is that I already have a handicap.  I have lost 9.4 pounds since January 1. I am certain much of that was water weight so he is going to have a pretty good drop when he first starts, thus leaving me trailing behind.  I am really going to need to step up my game….perhaps I should start by sending hubby to stay over there!  Oh wait, that wouldn’t be fair sabotaging my competition like that.  It was just a fleeting thought.  ; )

I have 5 more days until I am through Phase I of  South Beach.  I am looking forward to adding a few foods back into my diet for some variation.  I would really love some blueberries! Oh…and a banana, I would really love to have a banana right now.  I can see the meltdown next Monday when I head into the grocery store …suddenly I am pushing everybody out of my way to get to the Del Monte bananas screaming, “PUT THOSE DOWN THEY’RE MINE.”  Two weeks without carbs and having to stand back and watch your husband eat pizza will make a good girl go bad.  ; )

Take It Or Leave It…

Sometimes the hardest part about a weight loss journey is just getting on the path.  If you are struggling alone, grab a friend and make it fun.  Sometimes it is easier to  begin with small changes such as going from white rice to brown or reducing the amount of soda you drink in a day.  Just remember that you are not alone and that yes, you can do this!

~Cheers

Beth

Elliptical Update:  Day 9 and holding steady!   : )

6 thoughts on “THE CHALLENGE

  1. Congratulations; those first steps are always the toughest but you have done it:)) Good luck with your continuing weight loss and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. It’s so hard when family members are not helpful. You can do this Beth! Stay strong and show them how amazing you are. Let’s do this!

  3. Ohhh a competition! You know I love those. I am sitting here at the moment starved and thirsty dying for my morning coffee but I don’t want the added weight before I weigh at the office this morning. 😀

    Keep up the good work. 😀

    • Grumpy, I know you love a competition! : )
      I am quite certain that you are going to rock the weight-loss challenge at your work…I can’t even begin to figure out how you manuevered your way past all the goodies….YOU RULE!!!
      Thank you for your continued support! : )

Leave a Reply

