Like Nike Says

After working up a sweat today on my elliptical, it was time to drag out and dust off my hand weights.  I haven’t had these out in almost a year.  Yes, I know, shame on me. I started out with just a 5 pound thinking, “No problem.”  Now I am sitting here struggling to hold my arms up while I type wondering what I was thinking.

I love to work out with these, they fit nice in your hand and come in all different weights (1-10  pounds).  There is an added bonus to incorporating strength training into your workout.  Strength training gives your metabolism a boost and allows your body to burn extra calories throughout the day.  At 43 years old, I could use all the help I can get boosting my metabolism.

After listening to my friend David over at testingtruechange (check him out on my blogroll) and my high school friend Kimmy, both runners, I am finally convinced that I want to give this a try.  I have always joked that the only time that I would ever be running was if I was being chased by zombies during the zombie apocalypse and even then I would probably just stop and “double tap” with my little .25 Raven pistol shouting NEVERMORE!  Thank you second amendment for the right to bear arms.

I am going to go with Kimmy’s advice and grab a pair of the Nike Free Run.  According to Nike their Nike Free Run promotes a more “barefoot like stride”.  I am going to assume this is a good thing…I am going to Kimmy’s word that this is a great shoe and go for it!

Running has been on my bucket list as something I have wanted to do, I have avoided it because of asthma and well just plain laziness, and I am going to grab my inhaler and JUST DO IT like Nike says.

And as I said before, the way I look at it, if the Mayans were really right on target with the whole end of the world thing…come December 21, 2012 I am going to be at top, peak physical condition and ready to go…now I just need a limo….

Cheers!

~Beth

2 thoughts on “Like Nike Says

  1. I would have to say the answer to that question would be a solid no. LOL
    I am still trying to figure out why one thigh hurts like hell and the other doesn’t???
    But I am still going to run!!!! ; )

Leave a Reply

