Kiss My I.R.asS.

Dear Government,

Today I am going to exercise my right to freedom of speech or I guess I should say freedom of the press since I am using electronic media to spew my frustration.  I used TurboTax to file my taxes this year expecting to see my refund in 7-10 days.  I am an unemployed Office Manger and so I am certain that you might be able to deduce that I could probably use my refund money right about now (you can deduce that…right?).  I don’t know if you are out grabbing an ice-cold brew and some appetizers on my dime while I sit here eagerly anticipating the monies owed to me, but I am beginning to wonder.

Imagine my first surprise when after filing with TurboTax I waited the required 72 hours before going to the “Where’s My Refund” site to check what day I should expect my refund to be directly deposited into my account, only to have the site tell me that I must have entered my information incorrectly.  Way to go I.R.S., blame the people.  For several days your website told me I was wrong (evidently I don’t know my own information) before you finally admitted fault on your site claiming that the I.R.S. was backlogged and that you were having difficulties with your “Where’s Your Refund” site.  Wow!  I can’t imagine if I actually owed taxes and was backlogged in paying you, somehow I don’t think that would fly.  Well, guess what?!  This doesn’t fly with me either!  The whole purpose of e-filing with TurboTax is to get my money in 7-10 days, that is why I pay $30.00 every year!  Now you are telling me that I have to wait 23 days for my refund.  Now, 23 days may not seem like that long in the grand scheme of things but when you have been off of work for 2 1/2 months and you are still waiting for your unemployment appeal money to kick in, 23 days starts to become a make it or break it for keeping the bills current.

I sincerely hope that you are doing something constructive with the interest that you are receiving on everyone’s money while you are “backlogged”, because I would feel really good about that… like feeding the poor, or helping the homeless or creating jobs for the unemployed like myself but honestly, I have this vision of some sort of House party that the rest of us weren’t invited to.

Cheers!

~Beth

Leave a Reply

