Yes, Size DOES Matter!

We have been told all our lives that size does or doesn’t matter.  Well, I am here to clear this whole enigma up.  Yes, size DOES matter. While large seems ideal, in the end you are really getting more than you really need to feel satisfied.  It didn’t seem all  that long ago that I, myself, believed that  in order to feel completely satisfied  I had to have the biggest one out there. With age comes wisdom and eventually you realize that it is what you do with it that is important.  Well, with much practice, I find that I am finally enjoying a smaller one, and since I am more of a visual kinda of girl, allow me to demonstrate with a few photos of why smaller is so much better…

On the left you have large and on the right you have small.  Most people would naturally grab the plate on the left as it is the classic “dinner plate”.  The plate on your right is the classic “salad plate”.  This, however, is a huge mistake when you are trying to cut calories.  Let me show you why…

As you can see you can, and most you likely will, pile much more food on a dinner plate than you will on a salad plate and if you go back and fill that dinner plate up again…the calories have really added up.

A smaller plate= smaller portions=less calories=thinner you!

There ya go…Size DOES matter!

My curiosity got the best of me today, as it does most days, and I had to try this bizarre-sounding chocolate pudding.  Chocolate pudding made out of avocados?  That doesn’t even sound right!  Ok, I’m in!  I enjoy walking that fine line of abnormal, so I had to go there.

  • 2 ripe avocados peeled and pit removed
  • 1 cup of unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 cup Maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • raspberries for garnish
  • chocolate curls for garnish (I used 85 % cacao)

Add ingredients to blender and chill for 30 minutes. How simple is that?!

Unexpectedly wonderful!  I was pleasantly surprised at how good this was and so was my 15-year old son!  Who would have thought that chocolate pudding made from avocados would get a….*throws head back….YES!!!!!!  Hey, anytime you can make a dessert sound healthy, you have scored!

If you are even remotely curious as to how “Plan B” went last night….the kennel came in our room and Zack was so upset that he began to pant.  Yes, pant.  Zack only reserves panting for when he is extremely upset… like when you take him in the car, he is terrified of it.  I felt so bad through the crying and panting (maybe that was me) that I had him come curl up in bed.  Zack seemed pretty remorseful this morning as he stared at me while we snuggled on the couch…

I am throwing in the towel, Zack has won the battle of the bed.  My mom alway said, “If you go to bed with dogs  you are going to wake up with fleas!” While that may be true, she also read me stories about princes showing up on white horses, looks like I am stuck with the dogs.

Cheers!

~Beth

thepossibilitarianslight.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Yes, Size DOES Matter!

  1. Thank you philosophermouseofthehedge! It is amazing how swiching the plate does indeed work and saves so many calories. Poor little Zack, he looks a little crazed in that photo…if you think HE sounds or looks sleep deprived. ; )

    Thank you for visiting. : )

  2. im going to try the smaller plates…AND im going to make this pudding!!!!!! I LOVE avocados!!! I’m more excited about this than i probably should be! Do you mind if I post that recipe on my blog and share??

  3. B.L., Yay!!! I am so glad you are excited, I was too when I saw the recipe. By all means post and share, share, share! : )

    When my 19 year old son came home (he had two years of culinary arts), I asked him to come taste the pudding…he took a bite and said, “This is excellent, what’s in it?” I said, “Avocados.” He said, “SERIOUSLY??? NO WAY!” He loved it! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

