Ghost Story

Photo courtesy of punkassghost.blogspot.com

We moved into our dream home in July of 2009.  Even in poor market conditions we were able to sell our own home for a great price and negotiate with struggling contractors.  Late one evening, not too long after we moved in, Zack was playing with me on my bed when he suddenly stopped.  Zack immediately spun around crouched down at the corner of my bed and looked toward a leather chaise lounge at the corner of the room and did something he had never done before…he began to growl.  Gentle Zack’s fur razor-backed upon him and the growl that came from my sweet dog frightened me to no end.  It was a growl of protection. I called his name several times and he quickly looked at me and then went back to growling at whatever it was that was sitting on my chaise lounge.  The moment left me quite unnerved.

Zack- pretty special

The next morning I told the kids (teens and young adults) about Zack’s disturbing behavior and that is when all the stories began flooding at me along with:  “Mom, this house is haunted.”  “Mom, there is something in your closet.”  Why is it that entities live in closets?  What is up with that? “Mom, I can’t stand going down the stairs because there is something on the other side in your room.”  NICE!  Why does it have to be MY room???  I knew I shouldn’t have taken them to see Paranormal Activity.

I was downtown Seattle at work one day when my oldest daughter was over visiting and she called me quite hysterical.  “MOM, I THINK THE CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR IS GOING OFF!!!”  “Is the fireplace on?” “No!”  “Is the oven on?” “No!”  “Grab the dogs and get out of the freaking house.  Do you understand me???  Get out NOW Ashley.  Right now!  Get your brothers out and call the fire department immediately but do so from the outside!”  The fire department came and checked out the carbon monoxide detector, there was no carbon monoxide in our house nor could they understand why our equipment failed, there was nothing wrong with it.  Nothing like this has happened since.  Ashley said to me, “Your house is haunted mom, something isn’t right here.”  Yes, I know it but dammit I saw Poltergeist and unless somebody gets sucked into the plasma television, I am not leaving!  Well, actually the events that have started occurring lately could change my mind…

Photo courtesy of horror-movies.ca

From beyond?

My best friend died of an aneurysm 8 years ago.  I was writing to some friends about her in October and wondered if one of her brothers might be on Facebook.  When I typed her brother’s name in the search button and hit search, my MAC completely shut down, it took me 15 minutes to get it to begin to reboot.  As it was almost through rebooting I said her name and my computer shut down again, this time it wouldn’t reboot until I came home from work.  In January of this year that very brother would be tied up, tortured and brutally murdered.  I can’t even tell you how chilled to the bone I was.  It was as if a warning had been sent to me months before he died.

Photo courtesy of prettyfacenomore.blogspot.com

When I returned from Ocean Shores last month, my 19 year-old son Scott, said that he went to take a picture of one of the dogs in his room and an orb of light flew right past him (Scott is the ghost hunter in the house who has even has downloaded apps on his phone determined to find the energy in our house…the scary thing is these energies speak and the app freaks me out….I choose ignorance thank you).   A couple of weeks ago Scott ran into my office and said, “DID YOU DO THAT???”  “Do what?”  “Did you just hold the door handle on me?”  “No, I have been right here at my desk. Why?”  “I couldn’t get out of the bathroom.  Something was holding the handle and I could feel the resistance on it.  I finally let go and then tried again and it opened.”  Hmmm….not ok.  If something starts holding the door closed on my behind, it’s on!

Photo courtesy of egyptiancottonbedsheets.com - What a shameless freaking plug that was!

That brings me to yesterday….

Yesterday I went into my bathroom to get ready for an appointment that I had in Seattle.  Zack and Tre rested quietly on my bed watching me do my hair when all of a sudden four very loud knocks came from within the house. I froze.  Zack, who will bark 100% of the time if there is a knock at the front door jumped up and looked toward my bedroom door, which was our exit.  I very slowly walked from my bathroom through my bedroom and peered down my staircase to my front door.  There are two glass windows on either side and 4 small square windows within the top of my wooden door, I couldn’t see anyone, nor did I think the sound came from my wooden door.  I waited.  Nothing.  I was spooked but I went back to getting ready for my appointment unable to solve the mystery.  It wasn’t more than a few minutes later when I heard the most terrifying sound that a woman can hear when she is home alone….the door open between my garage and my house and what followed next sent me racing for my home security system….footsteps on the hardwood.  OMG SOMEBODY WAS IN MY HOUSE.

Photo courtesy of flickchickcanada.blogspot.com

As soon as I heard the door to the garage I turned to Zack to see his reaction, Zack had bolted straight up and was once again staring at my bedroom door.  OMG, he heard it, too.  I went toward the door (thank you security folks for installing a panel in the bedroom), I opened the door and stuck my head out…the footsteps stopped.  I FROZE.  My heart was racing so fast and all I could think of was DAMN THE CLIP  IS OUT OF THE GLOCK!!!  I was also thinking they must have frozen hearing my footsteps upstairs.  What do I do here???  I closed my bedroom door and stood there with my finger on the panic button waiting for footsteps on the stairs.  Zack looked terrified and Tre just sat there shaking.  I am a MacGyver by nature so I was forming a plan in my head of what weapon I could create. Large crystal vase…….perfect!  Heavy Buddha statue if need be….gosh, I would hate to pound it into somebody’s head that my religion is kindness but this is an exception to the rule. I stood there like Jodi Foster in Silence of the Lambs, minus the gun, for what seemed like forever waiting to deal with my attacker.

Photo courtesy of ugo.com

I know that it was probably only minutes that passed when I began to get spooked more than anything else.  I started thinking about the dog not barking, he actually looked more scared than anything. Zack had the strangest look on his face…well…stranger than his normal strange. There was no sound. Instead of being afraid that I was up against a physical person, I started thinking that perhaps I wasn’t….what was my weapon now?  I stood there for a while and then I slowly headed down the stairs.  Damn that Paranomal Activity movie…I half waited to be dragged down my stairs.  Darn those kids and their scary movies. When I made it to the kitchen the air felt heavy. If you have ever been in a room and felt like someone was watching you, that is how I felt.  Like I was being watched but no one was in the room…

Photo courtesy of thedollhead.blogspot.com- This is just terrifying, completely terrifying.

This now brings me to the three slices of Little Caesars (not even gluten-free mind you) and two pieces of crazy bread that I scarfed down last night.  Oh yeah, scared out of my wits….you betcha…I am going for the pizza.  There was no juicing last night, no leafy greens, it was straight up gimme the damn pizza and get out of my weigh….not way…weigh.  GET OUTTA MY WEIGH!

Photo courtesy of sun-prairie-wisconsin.com

Take It Or Leave It…

When you are faced with ghosts, poltergeist, spooky things and such, don’t beat yourself up if you feel the need to carb up.  This is the one time I will say that it is perfectly acceptable and understandable that you lose your mind and go for the pizza.  If something is locking your kids in the bathroom, scaring your dogs, walking through your house, shutting down your computer, setting off your carbon monoxide detector, opening doors and banging on your walls….I would say eating a few slices of pizza is the least of your worries!

Cheers!

~Beth

The Haunted House

Inside, things go bump in the day and night...

20 thoughts on “Ghost Story

  1. Yes, everyone…I can personally tell you none of this is an exaggeration. Once my youngest brother and I were in the living room watching TV, and I was sitting at the table (where I could see the door that seperates the house and the garage) and all of the sudden the dogs started barking, and the door handle began shaking, as if someone was trying to open it. I thought “Wow…Mom is home awfully early”. The dogs kept barking, but the door didn’t open. I got up, opened the door, and no one was there, and mom’s car wasn’t in the garage. While my brother didn’t see the handle shake, he heard it. Then, we heard footsteps in mom’s room upstairs that lasted maybe 2 or 3 seconds, then stopped.

    So, yeah…the place is haunted. I can confirm it. lol. Time to move! 🙂

    • No, but railroad tracks are right across the water retention pond across the street….
      Here is where is gets really creep….one of my neighbors claims that their tiny dog was shoved across their floor and it cried and voices can be heard in their house….reminds me of “They moved the headstones but didn’t move the bodies!”

  2. LOL..”EEK!!” Small sheet….big…um…APPARITION!
    Here is a story for you….when my youngest son Anthony was born, he nearly died at birth from a tracheal esaphageal fistula (Hope I spelled that correctly), his esaphagus was attached to his trachea and he was drowning at birth. He speant the first week of his life in the neonatal intensive care fighting for his life and another week in recovery. Bringing Anthony home was the happiest moment of my life and I guarded my son like a mother bear guards her cubs. As he napped I checked on him regularly. I began noticing that although I was home alone with my son, the bedroom door would open while he napped and I was so concerend that one of our kittys would climb into his crib. After days of the door opening during nap time I began to check the doorknob consistantly when I walked past. One day I walked down the hall and the door was wide open and there on the side of his crib dangled his pacifier on the edge of the railing…..OH HELL NO!!!
    Anthony was only a few weeks or perhaps two months old. Baskets of laundry began to move in the middle of the night. Every electrical appliance in the house when out. Half of the house had electrical problems and Anthony would sit in his swing and smile and laugh and whomever was playing with him as we watched in awe….
    Anthony would have been his deceased grandfathers first grandchild and the house we lived in at the time once belonged to him.

  3. You had me so engrossed it’s like a great novel. I want to know how it ends and then you put in the pizza!!!!! Oh, well I did love it. And I can totally relate. One my StepDad died back in the day he had the VCR set up to record every episode of Hillstreet Blues among others. Let me tell you I didn’t have any idea how to delete the request untill one day I asked him to help him. And he did. No more odd recordings. Ghost stories are cool living them not so much.

  4. Over here, we have a local holy man (be it Christian, Buddhist, Hawaiian, etc) bless the exterior and interior of houses and businesses. Usually done before moving in or at grand openings however, whenever can be done whenever there’s a “problem”. Just a thought. Hope the situation is resolved soon, don’t want to have a “Here’s Johnny” moment.

    • Wasn’t he a writer…sure has been snowing on and off a lot in Seattle…. ; )
      So far it has been completely harmless, but if something were to change I would be stockpiling priests in my garage.

  5. I’m glad you’re okay. Hopefully, you were able to put anchovies on the pizza. Could be an omen to get everything on the pizza. With all of that going on, you certainly didn’t want to miss all that the pizza had to offer at that moment.

    Did you search the pizza to see if any bites were taken that you had nothing to do with? It could have become even freakier…..

  6. Pingback: Weight for me in the gym!!! | Tap Dancing Fingers

Leave a Reply

