You Decide

It had to happen at some point. The garage, which is supposed to host three cars, can barely fit my little Juke.  My almost 16 year-old son Anthony has been fussing that his 1995 Saab 900 convertible that I purchased him in November  isn’t in the garage where he feels it belongs.  Kind of how my chihuahuas feel that they should be in my bed, Anthony feels that his car should get “dibs” on garage space.  When Elysia learned her brother was going to get garage space for his car and not hers, the discussion was on!  Since technically I own the Saab, it gets garage space.  Sorry Sissy, your brother wins.  There is no way I am ever going to get rid of enough stuff to utilize all three spaces, if I did, there wouldn’t be any Christmas decorations.

If you have had an opportunity to view any sort of earthquake footage then you have a good assumption of what the inside of the garage looked like before the overhaul.  It was beginning to resemble an episode of Hoarders minus all the nasty stuff.  I climbed up on a two-drawer filing cabinet to reach some of the taller boxes…yes…the boxes were stacked that high.  As I was going through the boxes I came upon a medical dictionary that I had been looking for.  I grabbed the book and said, “Oh good, I have been looking for this, I am going to need it.”  You may be wondering why I would need a medical dictionary.  I used to work in a medical setting and I was hoping to brush up on some medical terminology because I would like to get back into the healing community.  Today, on a Sunday, my phone rang….it was a chiropractor’s office wanting to know if I would come in on such late notice and interview today…like be here in less than 2 hours. You betcha!  In the middle of purging files from 2004 I dropped everything to go from  dirty, garage-cleaning bum to professional admin in one hour.

The interview with the doctor’s wife went well, I have been invited back to meet the doctor tomorrow. I hope my job search is finally coming to an end.  When I arrived home I thought to myself how odd it was that yesterday I had grabbed onto that medical dictionary  and made my statement so very clear. “I am going to need this.”  If you read my post from last week titled “Ghost Story” then you already know that strange events have been occurring in my home for quite some time.  Who would have guessed that I would get called on a Sunday to come into a doctor’s office the day after I found my “missing” medical dictionary…I found this to be a bit strange…You decide.  : )

While I was cleaning the garage this week-end that does not mean that I didn’t whip up one amazing corned beef and cabbage cooked in Guinness for St. Patrick’s Day.  At the dinner table I made the rule that we had to speak in an Irish accent for the entire evening but that fizzled out after the kids and I determined we sounded more British than anything else.  At some point we determined that the statement “He’s after me Lucky Charms, they’re magically delicious” really doesn’t qualify. That was a spoiler.

Usher moment…

These are my confessions:  I really have failed this week on healthy eating…ok, so that was putting it mildly. Perhaps I should have said, “I have spiraled into the bad eating abyss.”  I have even been eating gluten which is a big no-no for me, although, I can say that I have been good about using the hand weights. I really have no excuse so I am not going to give you one.  I need to get back into the game this week.

Take It Or Leave It…

When moving, do not allow well-meaning individuals to dump out files, receipts, junk into bins so that you can stumble upon them years later wondering what the heck happened.  It might seem like a good idea when you are trying to relocate in a hurry but years later you will want to shank yourself over it.  With all the loose paper I have picked through this week-end I have more dust up my nose than Tony Montana.  :/

Photo courtesy of reverseshot.com

 

Cheers!

~Beth

 

12 thoughts on “You Decide

  1. It’s strange how quickly the universe answers our call sometimes! I actually have a draft blog started about that very same topic – said I needed a job, then old colleagues come out of the woodwork with job offers. Very strange, indeed.

  2. I hope you get the job but I hope that doesn’t mean the end of your blogging days. This is really a fun blog to read.

    Also, I think that Ireland and England are (or were) both part of the UK, so you can legally substitute an Irish accent and a British one. I read that somewhere, maybe in your Medical Dictionary. Do me a favor and look it up for me.

    • haha Reese Witherspoon…I don’t know if I can agree with you here with the whole “magically delicious” thing. Somehow quoting Lucky the Leprechaun shouldn’t count.

      • If saying “ya’ll” and “ain’t” counts as a Southern accent, I dont see why not. Just include “magically delicious” in every sentence…

        How was your day, magically delicious?
        Why yes, it was magically delicious and yours?
        Also magically delicious.

        On second thought… you might be too limited on converstaion topics…

Leave a Reply

