Soul Food

This past weekend was about a different kind of food,

it was about feeding my soul.

SONY DSC

While we often struggle to figure out what to put inside our bodies for health, we often neglect the most important aspect of our being, our minds.  On the spur of the moment Friday, I let my family know that we were packing up and heading to the ocean first thing Saturday morning.  It had been almost a year since I had escaped for a night, life had gotten in the way.  I felt the need to re-charge to re-think, to breathe. I usually talk myself out of doing anything that isn’t well-planned or deeply considered but I headed out the door with no reservations in my heart or at a hotel for that matter, I didn’t care.  Off we went!


The ocean has always rejuvenated my spirit and it did not fail to deliver.  It is rare that a day is so perfect that you wish you could stop time and grasp that moment and hold on tight.  The sun’s reflection on the water was brilliant and the waves danced with the seagull’s cry.  I could feel myself relax for the first time in months.  I had been so caught up in the previous difficult months that I had forgotten to stop and just be. I was starving but this time it wasn’t for a Garlic Jim’s pizza, it was my spirit that needed a binge.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I am full.

Cheers!

~Beth

*note my pics are subject to copyright.

10 thoughts on “Soul Food

  1. My inspiration for a sea-escape 🙂 has been this Winter, and with this you have confirmed my destination. It’s a must do for 2013.

    All about taking in the peaceful, natural surroundings. As you described; Soul Food

  2. The ocean or near water is my favorite place to be. Water has magical mental health healing properties and it is a must for my soul. Once you watch the sun set over the Pacific Ocean, you are hooked. 🙂
    If you head out this way, I hope that we have a chance to meet! Hugs my friend!

  3. Sounds like a wonderful day! I’m all about being around the water to, but never really get the chance to be around the ocean. For me it’s usually a pond or lake. 🙂 Though, I had one of these moments Sunday evening. It’s just getting warm enough down here that all my favorite southern sounds are coming out. I sat Sunday after taking a nice walk, watched the sunset and got to listen to all the toads, frogs, and bugs make their magic music. I love it! The sounds of the south to me…that’s home.

Leave a Reply

