Update and Review

On Wednesday Elysia and I headed over to the Paramount Theatre in downtown Seattle to see Jillian Michaels in person for her Maximize Your Life tour.  The tickets were purchased as a birthday gift to Elysia and I had paid what I considered to be a small fortune for VIP seating.  I would like to start off by discussing how disorganized either the show producers were or the Paramount folks themselves but once inside the first set of doors it was a cluster.  The first thing I noticed as Elysia and I waited for the second set of doors to open was a woman in line with an orange wrist band.  Something told me that this was important and so I politely asked her if she was a VIP ticketholder, yes she was, and she went on to give directions to the VIP check-in table.  We chatted for a moment and I told her that no one had made us aware of the check-in procedure and she responded with “They didn’t tell anyone!”  What?!?  Wow, I wasn’t feeling so VIP at that point.  Elysia and I winded our way back through the growing crowd to the check-in table.  The VIP tickets included a take home gift and Elysia and I had wondered if it would be her new book or perhaps a workout DVD and we surmised with anticipation.  Upon check-in we were given an envelope and in that envelope contained the very disappointing take home gift…a 27 minute audio cd of Jillian Michaels hitting some topics that I believe were mentioned at the event.  I say “I believe” because after the first 3-4 minutes I lost interest and didn’t even notice it playing.  I was disappointed to say the least.

The doors opened….

This was my first visit to the Paramount and I am quite surprised that the Maximize Your Life tour was booked here considering Jillian has a large following of overweight individuals. With that being said, I had to be creative in shoving my fat ass behind into a seat seemingly meant for a 12-year-old. Imagine that for 3 1/2 hours! As other VIP ticket holders began to sit down we spread the word to anyone who did not have their little orange paper band that they needed to go check in, they were all grateful for the heads up and they, too, shared that they were never told and how ridiculous that was!  Along comes Jillian who begins her show basically telling everyone that this was nothing we haven’t heard before, she was right.  There was enough humor in the first half to hold my attention but by the second half I found myself dosing off repeatedly.  Elysia sincerely enjoyed the show and that is exactly what the purpose was, however, sadly I have received more motivation out of some of the audiobooks that I have listened to in my car than I did the Maximize Your Life tour.  Jillian is without a doubt an incredible trainer and I am certain that one on one she would be an excellent motivator, I just wasn’t motivated by her on stage.  What I did take home from the event was the reminder to create exit strategies in my life and do what I love…it was good to be reminded of that, even though, as she mentioned, it was nothing new.

So what is new then?

Tomorrow I will have completed 3 weeks of Weight Watchers and I am already down 15.2 lbs. *pats self on back.  I will continue to say that I am very impressed with this ridiculous concept of “points” but the shit program works!  It is a real eye opener when you truly realize what a weight loss portion size is.  The freaking amazing thing about Weight Watchers is that you can eat whatever the hell you want.  The only catch is as long as it is within your allotted points for the day.  What I have worked hard to do is to keep almost all processed foods out of my daily diet.  I have to say though that there is one weight watchers food dessert item that I find myself eating like it is the last food that I will ever consume and that is the Weight Watchers Dark Chocolate Raspberry popsicle.  OMG…I eat these like the owl who is looking for the center of a Tootsie Pop!  Who would have guessed that they are only 2 points!  THANK YOU WEIGHT WATCHERS!

Today Elysia and I watched the movie Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead and let me tell you that was more motivation in life than VIP tickets.  If you are looking for something to change your thinking, this is an excellent option.  In fact, Elysia was so motivated by it that she is beginning a 10 day juice fast tomorrow!  The thing that I am trying to stay motivated with is my job search.  My contract with a large wireless company is ending soon and it is back to the drawing board for me.  I need to find how to market myself with what I love and that is writing!  Yeah, I still have big dreams!

Cheers!

~Beth

 

2 thoughts on “Update and Review

  1. Sounds like you are once, again, successful, and going for more. Congratulations!

    While I have been cutting calories (900-1200/day), and carbs, I’m doing okay but, I’m thinking of joining the Weight Watchers regimen, again. As I recall, I did lose weight with them.

    Hope you are doing well, otherwise, and it sounds like you are. Why not write something about this rebound, and how you took a tough year, last year but, stretched the boundaries of human endurance to make this year, yours?

    I’m quite happy for you!

Leave a Reply

