Day 6: I successfully made it through the weekend!

Weight as of Day One (April 15th): 341.8 lbs

Weight as of today: 331.5 lbs

Weight lost: 10.3 lbs

Total weight lost since March 25th: 23.5 lbs

Tomorrow at 1pm marks seven full days since I have eaten anything, and since I have began juicing. For the life of me, I really can’t believe I’ve done it. I can’t believe that I’ve gone this long, and resisted all the temptations that have been around me. This weekend has been the absolute hardest part, and I’ll explain why…

Yesterday mom wanted to go to a plant nursery and produce stand that she passes every day on her way to work. My parents, brother, and I went and enjoyed the stand very much – it had great prices and mom found some plants she had been looking for. It was getting towards dinner time, and I had juiced something quickly before we left, but it wasn’t close to what I normally juice. My family was hungry but didn’t want to eat anything because of me. I told them not to worry about it – I can handle them eating in front of me. Well, they chose pho, which happens to be one of my favorite foods. No matter…I figured I would just order some tea and be alright.

As soon as we walked in, I knew I was in for a struggle. It smelled amazing in there! When they ordered, I asked for tea and lime for my water. Their food came, and my stomach began to rumble. About ten minutes passed, and I was doing alright. I watched the tv hanging on the wall and tried to ignore the smells around me. A waiter came by to fill my water and asked if they had forgotten my order. I smiled and said no, but thank you. Another waiter came by and nearly gave me a plate meant for another table. It became a little harder to ignore everything, but I continued to drink my water and focus on the tv screen. Eventually everyone was finished, and I all but ran out of the restaurant. Phew! It was over!

I woke up this morning ready to just sit on the couch all day and totally relax. My body woke itself up around 7:30am, which is a miracle because normally on the weekends I sleep until 9 or 10am. I felt rested, and that made me happy. Getting on the scale of course was even better. The day was great until mom decided that she was going to make stuffed peppers for dinner. Once again, this was one of my favorite foods. I LOVE stuffed peppers. Mom didn’t realize this and felt kind of bad, but of course she wasn’t going to change plans for the rest of the family. I don’t blame her, but as soon as she started cooking, my stomach flipped. I felt a little nauseous, but it passed after some cucumber and lemon juice. When it was time for dinner, I felt silly by the fact that I was longing for a stuffed pepper. I was so close to practically mauling one in order to calm myself down. But again, I refrained. Another amazing accomplishment.

So this weekend was very difficult. It took a lot of patience and self control and for that, I’m very proud of myself. This is honestly and truly the first time I have firmly stuck with a decision and choice like this. This was a big decision that I made rather quickly, and there have been MANY times over the course of the past week when I told myself it was alright to give in. Thankfully, there is a tiny, small voice in my head that just keeps whispering “Keep going! You will be so proud when you are through!” I’m not through yet, but I am alright glowing with pride that I’ve made it this far.

I’m in the last half of this incredible goal, and I can’t wait to write when I’m finished. I’ll definitely be back before then with more progress though :)

Leave a Reply

