Day two of my juice fast


Well, hello!

So, as I said about two weeks ago, I’m back to the good ol’ weight loss regimen again. It’s felt so great to be back on a good track, and I’m going stronger than I ever have before. Just ask my mom…she’ll tell ya!

To start from the beginning of my latest antics, Sunday I watched a documentary called “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead”. It was a wonderful movie about how this man changed his life and others by fasting and only drinking fresh fruit and veggie juices for 60 days. He lost around 100lbs and completely gained his life back. I was so inspired! I talked it over with mom, getting her opinion and ideas about fasting, and decided that I would give it a shot. Monday night after work, I visited my local produce stand and stocked up. I researched different websites and made sure I wanted to do this. Yes, I need this.

My morning yesterday started with about 20 oz of fresh juice, containing orange, apple, grapefruit, cucumber, carrots, ginger, and spinach. I drank part of it before work, and the other part when I got to work. I brought along about 36 oz of juice that was more veggie based for my “lunch” to be able to drink to get me through the day. While for the most part everything had gone fine, let me tell you…I was STARVING. I had a headache, my stomach hurt, and I was pretty sure this was the dumbest thing I had ever tried. I was pretty much resolving that I wasn’t going to continue. I got home, juiced right away, and felt a little bit better.

This morning was a completely different story. I woke up surprisingly refreshed, with very little aches and pains. I didn’t think much of it until mom and I were done with our walk and I felt like I could walk for another hour. I was awake and focused…I felt great! By the end of the afternoon at work, my attitude towards juicing had completely changed. My headache was wearing off, my stomach was no longer trying to eat my other organs, and I felt my mind clearing a bit, as if a fog had lifted. It’s a bit after 6pm, and I’m not even hungry. Of course, I still have to juice tonight, but I’m not starving, and I don’t have any urge to eat at all.

I don’t honestly know how long my fast with last. I will for sure do at least 10 days, but whether I go further or not is still undecided. I may go all the way up to 30, but that will be decided later. I’m already seeing results! When I got on the scale Monday, I was 341.2 lbs (I was 355 lbs beginning March 25th), and this morning, I weighed in at 338.6 lbs. HOLY FREAKING WEIGHT LOSS, BATMAN! This detoxing stuff is AWESOME! But, it’s not just about the weight loss. I feel better already…I feel like my body is washing away all the toxins that have built up, giving me a clean slate. And it’s only day two!

I’m really excited to continue with my juice fast, and I can’t wait to see how I feel tomorrow. If you’ve ever fasted before like this, let me know! I’m definitely looking to connect with more people and learn new recipes/ideas.

I need to go juice my dinner, but I hope everyone is doing well! And THANK YOU for the warm “welcome back!” I missed you guys 🙂

Love,

Elysia