The Standoff


I walked past my exercise room today and there is was, THE ELLIPTICAL, almost staring right at me, perhaps even challenging me.  I have had every intention over the past few weeks to get back in the saddle but I have made up every excuse not hop back on.   Today was different.  Today it was like a shootout at the O.K. Corral.  I wasn’t about to let a piece of gym equipment make me feel all guilty, I accepted the challenge. I came heavily armed with Kenny Loggins on my iTunes.  You just can’t lose with Danger Zone.  Of Course, no workout is complete without a little Flo Rida – In The Ayer but what I REALLY, REALLY love is Diana King’s Shy Guy.  Oh Lord have mercy, mercy, mercy….this song turns up the heat for me.  I would personally enjoy a take charge kinda guy but hey, she sings this with such feeling and conviction that I am seriously interested in what all the shy guy fuss is all about.  ; )


Shy Guy is often put on repeat on my playlist.  It has that beat that just makes me what to get up and dance.  It is on the my list of things that make me happy.  : )

So, with all my ammo I was able to pull off a pretty powerful workout and now I can stop feeling like my elliptical is mocking me.

 

Take It Or Leave It…

Take inventory.  Inventory?  Yes, inventory.  Look around you and take inventory of all the positives in your life, throw out  or minimize the negatives.  When your life is filled with challenges you will find that there are days that you open your eyes and end begin to entertain the negative, let it go.  Take that moment to take a deep breath and start your day off right.   One way to start thinking positive is to set a positive affirmation by your bed at night, make it the first thing you read in the morning.  Consider placing another where you get ready for your day or maybe you have your favorite song ready to play on your playlist…mercy, mercy, mercy… Surround yourself with the positive.  : )

Cheers!

~Beth